Rest In Peace Mom

After three torturous days, this afternoon Mom found her wings and flew away home. We are a musical folk. This is the song that  was playing on my computer when she finally found the courage to begin the next phase of the journey. Immediately upon hearing it she became calm after struggling breath after tortured breath since Wednesday. She took three calm breaths, I looked away for a moment, and when I looked back, she had flown away.

She is singing now, once again, with that pure strong voice, harmonizing with her Mom, her siblings and the angels- and now Dad can hear her.

Rest in Peace, Mom, until we meet again , on the bonnie bonnie banks of Loch Lomond.

 

Loch Lomond

By yon bonnie banks an’ by yon bonnie braes
Whaur the sun shines bright on Loch Lomond
Whaur me an’ my true love will ne-er meet again (alternate: Where me and my true love were ever lak/wont tae gae)
On the bonnie, bonnie banks o’ Loch Lomon’.
Chorus:
O ye’ll tak’ the high road, and Ah’ll tak’ the low (road)
And Ah’ll be in Scotlan’ afore ye
Fir me an’ my true love will ne-er meet again
On the bonnie, bonnie banks o’ Loch Lomon’.
‘Twas there that we perted in yon shady glen
On the steep, steep sides o’ Ben Lomon’
Whaur in (soft) purple hue, the hielan hills we view
An’ the moon comin’ oot in the gloamin’.
Chorus
The wee birdies sing an’ the wild flouers spring
An’ in sunshine the waters are sleeping
But the broken heart, it kens nae second spring again
Tho’ the waeful may cease frae their greetin’. (alternate: Tho’ the world knows not how we are grieving)
Chorus
18 Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your mom. I lurk at TCH, but didn’t realize that anything was amiss. Anyway, I glad I saw your tweet, so I could give my condolences. Hang in there.

  2. You know I love you. Stay strong. My prayers are with you. XO

  3. Prayers and fondest thoughts to you at this time. Please accept my most sincere sympathy

  4. This is such a sweet tribute to your Mother.
    My sincere sympathy to you and your loved ones.

  5. ((((PMM))))
    It’s a beautiful song.
    I’m praying for you.
    Please take care of yourself and stay healthy.

  6. I didn’t forget to pray for you and your mom in Adoration on Saturday and will remember your mom everytime you leave music to fit any occassion on my blog. Hang in there, kiddo. Love ya.

    • Thanks Nunly. My family is very dysfunctional and the sister she lived with has “decided” to ignore all the planning Mom did for her funeral.
      At first there was going to be NOTHING- just a memorial. Three of us are still churchgoers- one additional one goes to church but has severe issues- and the oldest sis hates the church. Youngest bro does not care one way or another.
      A compromise of sorts has been reached. There will be a memorial service in the spring, incorporating Christian Scripture and hymns, with some kind of clergy- to be determined.
      I just can’t fight them anymore. I went our there resolved not to fall into my old place in the dysfunction- I can only change me and how I do or do not react to provocation.
      For the most part, I was successful. I will have a Mass said here.

  7. (((((PMM)))))

    My condolences to you and your family.

  8. Your mum was quite blessed to have a daughter like you PMM. She’s still alive and well in your heart. 🙂

  9. I left a message on TCH, but you might not have seen it.

    I am so sorry for your loss. Losing your mother, no matter what age is so sad. I hope knowing that she is with the angels can give you comfort. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

    {{{PMM}}} >

    • Thanks Leslie. It is difficult- but I know she is now at peace. Her health had been declining and she was suffering from arthritis and COPD. She is all whole again now.

  10. PMM,
    My condolences to you and family. It hurts to lose one’s mother. May she rest in peace.

    • Thank you. Trying to work up the courage to go through all the old cassette tapes I have of Mom and our family singing. My son is going to transfer the best to CD for the memorial service. Not today though. Not today.

Comments are closed.

