No I DO NOT Have to Choose between Bad and Worse (and I Don’t Hear Dog Whistles either!)

Cheese and Rice on Burnt Toast! Groundhog Day! In 08 it was coming from the bots- and now it is coming from former Hillary supporters who should know better damn it!

So let’s set the record straight hmmm? The Republicans do NOT give a shit about us. The Democrats don’t give a shit about us. I DO NOT have to vote for any person or party that embodies ideas that are contrary to what I believe. Get that? NO I do NOT Have to cast my vote for people who do not deserve it. Ever.

I am  not willing to ignore the FACT that the Republicans continue to make THIS part of their platform.

RENEWING AMERICAN VALUES

 We recognize and honor the courageous efforts of those who bear the many burdens of parenting alone, even as we believe that marriage, the union of one man and one woman must be upheld as the national standard, a goal to stand for, encourage, and promote through laws governing marriage.

Get that? Do you GET THAT? So don’t tell ME I hear dog whistles when Santorum speaks and Ann Romney speaks shortly after. Nope, no dog whistles. Just as in 2008, I DO MY HOMEWORK!

Let’s go here, to another page in their platform. Sublinks- Defending Marriage against an Activist Judiciary. A Sacred Contract: Defense of Marriage. The Sanctity and Dignity of Human Life. Go Ahead- go read it – I’ll wait.

The Sanctity and Dignity of Human Life(Top)

Faithful to the “self-evident” truths enshrined in the Declaration of Independence, we assert the sanctity of human life and affirm that the unborn child has a fundamental individual right to life which cannot be infringed. We support a human life amendment to the Constitution and endorse legislation to make clear that the Fourteenth Amendment’s protections apply to unborn children.

Get that? Do you GET THAT?

Now let’s go look and see if there is anywhere in that frigging document that calls for equal rights for women. For the right of every woman to decide her own destiny. Looking. Looking. Looking.

Nope, not in there. It IS NOT THERE! On the contrary, the R platform says a fetus has rights- the right to take over your body for nine months and your mental health forever. The rights of a rapists spawn trump the woman’s right to control of her body. No exceptions. Ever. For any reason.

The platform is openly anti-gay family. Openly opposes same sex marriage.

I refuse to be told “there are more important issues at stake.” I am not an idiot. I know the economy sucks. I also know that women’s issues have been put on the back burner with that same argument for 100 yrs and more. By BOTH sides. Always, always, it is the same old shit. “Just wait, honey, we’ll get to your issues. But first THIS is more important.”

Fuck that shit. I don’t hear dog whistles. Only dogs hear those. I hear what the Republicans are SHOUTING from the roof tops. They have been shouting the same thing for years- and anyone who does not hear it is DEAF or willingly stuffing cotton in their ears. Or, like the obots, sticking their fingers in their ears and going “NA Na NA NA I Can’t (WON’T???) Hear You!”

I READ the info the parties put out there on their web pages. I study what the candidates say, what they have done, with whom they associate. The I decide whether they deserve my vote or not.

A party that allows anti choice, anti gay language in their platform and allows the fringe lunatics prime time speaking slots does not deserve my vote.

I figured out Obama was not deserving of my vote in 2008. I DID NOT “Have” to choose him. I DO NOT have to choose Romney Ryan either. I refuse to be forced to choose undeserving asshats on the theory that “the other side is worse.”

I am sick to death of people trying to tell me the other side is worse. That is a reason to vote for someone? Totally disgusted with people trying to, as a dear blogger friend says, polish a turd.  There is no way for me to cast aside the FACT that the R’s and D’s do not represent me.

And it saddens me beyond belief that those who were so clear eyed, those who did their homework in 2008 and recognized Obama for what he was (and was not) are now trying the same tactics the obots used. Shouting down. Insults. Heckling. Denigrating those who speak truth as we see it.

SHAME! SHAME! Vote as you see fit. Vote as your conscience dictates. But please, oh please, don’t turn into the 2012 R version of the obots. Don’t tell us we are crazy or hear dog whistles when we have read and watched and researched. We can each pick our opinions- we can not pick our facts.

Vote down ticket and prevent one party rule in DC. Keep the  House and Senatedivided to prevent them from doing any more damage.

