STOP LYING!

Just got another begging letter.

— On Thu, 9/29/11, Rufus Gifford, BarackObama.com <info@barackobama.com> wrote:

From: Rufus Gifford, BarackObama.com <info@barackobama.com>
Subject: Why we’ve been sending you emails

Date: Thursday, September 29, 2011, 2:54 PM

2012
xxx–I’m the national finance director here at OFA.

I know we’ve been sending you a lot of email lately. That’s because we’re staring down a critical fundraising deadline tomorrow at midnight.

You know what that means for your inbox, but let me give you a sense of what that looks like around here.

The staff and I are working around the clock, powered by too much coffee. It’s been way too long since we called our moms. And we’ve all had more pizza and bad takeout in the past few weeks than anyone should have in a year.

No one’s complaining; that’s what we signed up for. And we’re not doing this just because it’s our job to make sure the campaign has the resources it needs. We’re doing this because it’s part of what defines this movement.

From the beginning, we’ve refused to take money from D.C. lobbyists and corporate special interests. Our operation is fueled by people inspiring each other to take ownership of this campaign.

That’s why we’ve been emailing this week, and that’s why I’m obligated to remind you once more that the deadline is coming up in a matter of hours.

If you’re able to, will you chip in just $3 today?

https://donate.barackobama.com/Friday-Deadline

For all of us here at HQ, and all of the staff and volunteers across the country counting on these resources, I really appreciate your help.

Rufus

Rufus Gifford
National Finance Director
Obama for America

Paid for by Obama for America
Contributions or gifts to Obama for America are not tax deductible.
This email was sent to: xxxUpdate address | Unsubscribe

My response
ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Please- I am not some ignorant yahoo. You don’t take money from lobbyists or corporate special interests? What alternate planet are you living on? Your biggest donors in 08 were bundlers for Insurance companies, Oil companies, Big Ag, the Banks.
Ever heard of Goldman Sachs? I have and I know how to go look up who gave and how much.
Call me when Obama steps down and they give the nomination to the woman who won the most primary votes ever. Until then, go beg from your special interest friends!
Uppity rescued me and provided me with the link to the Open Secrets page showing Obama’s top 08 donors. As it turns out I was wrong- Goldman Suchs was the second highest “donor” – University of California was at the top of the  list.
8 Responses

  1. USC itself didn’t donate. It was their PAC. USC is a private university in California…..alumni tend to be……not poor shall we say.

    OT: Thanks for adding Pie2012 to your blog roll! I don’t know how much I’ll post since I’m such a neophyte and I really don’t know what I’m doing…..hmmm…..kinda like Obama! Anyway, when you get your next DNC letter begging for money you should say all your money is going to the PIE2012 campaign! or tell them to tweet @PIE2012 !!
    🙂

  2. PMM! I’ve been practicing….what do you think?
    http://pie2012.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/wall-street-protest-l-a-style/

  3. It is his motto: Say one thing, do another!
    BTW, thanks for placing me on the blog roll. I hope you don’t catch to much grief!

  4. We’re doing this because it’s part of what defines this movement.

    Lying with ease, that is.

  5. So much fun to visit PMM’s spot under the sun. Good fixin’s here! 😉

  6. Hey PMM,
    I just posted on my blog about how I, as a conservative, approach certain topics when I am a guest at great blogs like yours and Uppities. Take a look. I am very happy you visit my little redneck of the woods, and you are always welcome there. 🙂

Comments are closed.

