What are you celebrating this weekend?

Aside from the fact that the 4th of July is my birthday? When, if ever, did you read the Declaration of Independence? The Constitution? Have you read any of the reams of material written by the Founders of this great nation? And most importantly have you THOUGHT about the words in those great documents?

Enjoy the parades, the fireworks, the barbecues. If you are fortunate and live near Boston MA- GO and see the free concert by the Boston Pops on the Esplanade! (Absolutely bar none the BEST 4th of July event anywhere! And I have been to many such birthday parties in many places lol!)

Have some potato salad and maybe some Apple Pie. By all means have a slice of my chocolate with chocolate frosting birthday cake! Sing along with some patriotic songs!

But please, read at least the Declaration of Independence and then give thanks that we live HERE! In the best country on earth. For all her faults and foibles is there really any other place you would rather live? Spare a thought for our troops- who live every day on a mission to keep us free to protest, to live, to celebrate!  Happy Birthday America! I am SOOO proud to share the day! Yes I am one corny Yankee Doodle Dandy and damn proud of it! God Bless America!

 

Oh- and if you wonder why I ask if people have read the Declaration or the Constitution and why I ask what people are celebrating this weekend go check out my friend Nunly’s post this morning!

9 Responses

  1. Well, Happy Birthday to you!!!!! You’re a Yankee Doodle Dandy!

    I went to Mass last night and in our bulletin our Pastor wrote a nice message regarding our Constitution. He gave thanks to our Creator who endowed us with certain unalienable rights. There will also be a special Mass on the 4th…which they always do, to pray for those who have fought and continue to fight for our freedom at the risk of their own lives.

    I’m not sure what we are doing tomorrow…probably hang out here and bbq and swim. We have some fireworks left over from last year, we might just shoot those off, depending on how many cops will be patrolling… its against the law here.

    Oh…and regarding your birthday. Will there be cake? Can I have some? 😉

    • Oh yes- chocolate with chocolate frosting! he grandsons are planning on decorating it with red white and blue cookie frosting! Please have some cake! And some of my potato salad from my Dad’s recipe!

  2. Oh, and take a look at the video on my blog today…it explains so much as to why our country is going into the dumpster.

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY Mom!

    I am celebrating my mother’s life – the memorial was yesterday and it was joyous and beautiful. I am celebrating my BFF’s birthday. (July 4th, as well). She is an amazing woman – just like you and just like my mother – to name a couple of amazing wimminz. And I am celebrating the possiblity of ridding the country of the current resident in the WH in 2012 (despite Nunly’s video).

    Oh and I am celebrating the White Sox taking the city series from the Cubs by going to the game tomorrow with my family!

    BTW: My son is a junior high, social studies teacher. And he is making certain his students know just what this holiday is about.

    • 4th of July! the best birthday ever! Wish I had known your Mom- but I can see thorugh yoru comments around the blogs that she was a great woman! happy Birthday to your friend! And please thank your son for me! As long as we have teachers like him, we have hope!

  4. Happy Birthday to PMM! Happy Birthday to America!

    AND MANY MORE!….

  5. Hey PMM, hope the BD went over with a bang!

Comments are closed.

