Hey! He Stole MY idea!

For a very long time I have advocated limiting what Food Stamps can buy. Oops- it’s not “Food Stamps” anymore – it’s “SNAP”, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. NUTRITION! If I am going to be shelling out tax dollars to help people I will be damned if my tax dollars should be helping people buy  junk with no nutritional value and oh by the way engorging the profits of companies like Coke, Pepsi and Frito-Lay.

New York Asks to Bar Use of Food Stamps to Buy Sodas

Mayor  Michael R. Bloomberg sought federal permission on Wednesday to bar New York City’s 1.7 million recipients of food stamps from using them to buy soda or other sugared drinks.

Wait! What’s that noise?

The world would be better, I think, if people limited their purchases of sugared beverages,” Mr. Hacker said. “However, there are a great many ethical reasons to consider why one would not want to stigmatize people on food stamps.”

Oh I recognize it now. It’s the sound of the crybaby ACLU types screaming “DISCRIMINATION!” How dare we taxpayers want to limit the ability of the poor and needy to buy junk on our dimes? Boo Frickin Hoo asshole. Stigmatize. Hmph. Try being one of the working poor who does not qualify for any assistance and forgoes soda, candy, chips and the like. Try for just one minute you self-righteous idiot to imagine how it feels to be in line behind one of the recipients of our tax dollars who just happens to have a grocery cart full of soda, cookies, chips, and sugar laden cereal that many taxpayers can not afford. DING DING DING! A Winner!

Dr. Farley and the state’s health commissioner, Dr. Richard F. Daines, said in an Op-Ed article in The New York Times on Thursday that the ban would not reduce the ability of food-stamp recipients to feed their families. “They would still receive every penny of support they now get, meaning they would have as much, if not more, to spend on nutritious food,” Dr. Farley and Dr. Daines wrote. “And they could still purchase soda if they choose — just not with taxpayer dollars.”

As noted in the article, the SNAP program already prohibits certain items such as prepared foods and alcoholic beverages. I would add that the WIC program severely limits what items can be purchased. WIC can be used for milk, cheese, peanut butter, milk and non sugared cereals. Who cares who had the idea? Get it done!

13 Responses

  1. This is a good idea. Haha! Agree with what you said about agreeing with bloomie.

  2. Love the Patriotic Penguins!

  3. The world would be better, I think, if people limited their purchases of sugared beverages,”

    The gubbermint already says no on buying beer and liquor with food stamps. So why not just add sodas, koolaid, flavored waters, candy, etc. ?

  4. Ya wanna know what would really put a crimp in food stampers style, would be if the guv only allowed fresh food from produce, butcher and fish market, and bakery.

    The entire canned goods and frozen food sections of groceries would become ghost towns.

    • It has long been a pet peeve of mine- fresh fruits, vegetables, fish, meat, cheese, peanut butter, (frozen veg and fruit are sometimes a better buy in many areas) NO JUNK! No prepared foods. No hamburger or tuna helper- too much sodium and you can make your own cheaper and more healthy too!

  5. The morning after this story came out, the Joe of Morning Joe on MSNBC said that Harold Ford Jr. called the idea “racist.” He corrected Joe by saying he found it classist. Joe’s co-host Mika, who wants all fat people to be dead or soemthing, wants all soft drinks to be banned.

    I oppose the banning of sugared drinks, but I fully support the idea of removing soda from the approved food stamp purchases. In NY, we call it AFDC. If you apply for food stamps, you basically need the government to assist you. It’s not free money, it’s a stipend to be used for food and certain household items.

    I’d go further to say that if you are on public assistants that you should live dormatory style and get your meals at a cafeteria. It’s so similar to Paladino’s idea of putting low income people in former prison facilities, I’m going to vote for him.

    • The dormitory thing is a bit far for me- but having had a time in my life when I had food stamps- ($204 a month to feed me and two boys) I get really ticked when I see what these people buy. I was always very careful- my kids never had soda or a store bought cookie. I knew it was taxpayer money and spent very very carefully. No soda, cookiesm chips, hamburger helper etc. It always lasted me through the month.
      I think all food stamp recipients should take a course on shopping and cooking on the cheap.
      It never hurt my kids, or me (other than my pride- thanks so much to the system that let my ex get away with not paying his child support) and none of them are overweight. They all love fruits and vegetables and they can all cook.
      No way Pepsi, Coke, Frito-Lay etc are ever going to let something like this go through.

Comments are closed.

