Proclaim Liberty Throughout the Land!

In our little hometown newspaper there was a piece yesterday which caught my attention and taught me a something I did not know. The title of this post are the words inscribed on the Liberty Bell. The op-ed piece told me that those words are taken from the Bible- Leviticus 25:1. Look it up! Check it out! Celebrate our country’s birthday! Spend a few minutes today in reflection and thanks. Please take a moment to think about the meaning of Independence Day- and think about the meaning of the word Independence.  We live in the greatest country ever- and citizenship here is a gift!  God Bless America! Sing along! Just like everybody does in Boston at the Hatch Shell with the Boston Pops.

And I REALLY wish some of the so called “big” stars that desecrate our national hymn would take a listen to these young children and learn to sing it with reverence and passion!

Add your own favorite patriotic videos in the comments! I will be out celebrating but will check in once in a while! God Bless America! Stay safe!

8 Responses

  1. Mom~ I just read that yesterday was your birthday and that you wished barky & friends will be gone when you finish blowing out your candles. Despite the lateness of this message:

    I wish you the happiest birthday, the best coming year, and that ALL YOUR WISHES COME TRUE!

    • Actually- birthday is today- I have the best birthday of all! Always a celebration to attend!

  2. Ooops…I also wish everyone a Happy Independence Day and that some time SOON, we have our country put back together again.

  3. Happy Fourth of July, PMM!

    I saw this and thought of you right away…know you’ll appreciate it. It made me tear up.

  4. Oh! And…..

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR MOOOOOOOM
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!

    Happy Birthday you firecracker, you!

  5. Glad you are rumbling about at patriotic celebrations now, and no longer held back by recovery. Or a slow poke computer. Keep up the great work! Everyone will continue to enjoy your blogosphere presence.

  6. OT…..Mom happy belated BD you Yankee Doodle Dandy!!!!

    I read in the comments today about your abundance of zucchini. MMMM I love zucchini and I’m sure you have plenty of recipes to grill it and stuff it, but I have this recipe that I thought maybe you didn’t have. I haven’t made it in YEARS since I had a garden full of zucchini, LOL!!! They don’t taste like real burgers but they’re actually tasty in their own right.

    Zucchini Burgers

    2 cups grated zucchini (about 3 medium)
    2 eggs
    3/4 cup regular wheat germ
    3/4 grated Monterey Jack cheese
    1/3 cup chopped mushrooms
    3 Tablespoons finely chopped onion
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/4 teaspoon thyme leaves crushed
    1/4 teaspoon rosemary leaves crushed
    1 Tablespoon butter or margarine
    4 burger buns they suggest whole wheat….all the trimmings for a burger

    Combine zucchini, eggs, wheat germ, cheese, mushrooms, onion and seasonings; mix well. Shape into 4 patties. Melt butter in large skillet, add patties and cook over medium-high until golden brown about 4 minutes on each side. Serve on buns. NOTE Burgers are best if cooked soon after shaping, before juice begins to form.

    Like I said I haven’t made any of these in years, oddly enough my kids liked them back in the day, LOL!! I think I remember cooking them around medium and not medium high. Also, I’ve substituted bread crumbs for the wheat germ, played with the spices, used all different sorts of cheese and I’ve nixed the mushrooms and added a little more zucchini a few times.

    Since you have an abundance of zucchini and everybody was talking about burgers, specifically blue cheese burgers and blue cheese works great in this recipe…..I just thought you might like it.

    • Outstanding! I always love to try a new recipe! Gyess what hubby is having for lunch tomorrow?? Thanks a million!

Comments are closed.

