Women’s History Month and your open thread!

I popped around looking for info on Women’s History Month and found that this-

About This Year’s Theme

Writing Women Back into History

The overarching theme is “Writing Women Back into History.” In celebration of their 30th anniversary, the National Women’s History Project will be highlighting themes and honorees from previous years. Each of these past themes recognizes a different aspect of women’s achievements, from ecology to art, and from sports to politics.

Writing women back into history- well about time somebody noticed we got written out! (Personally I always thought Eve got screwed- even then the man could not take responsibility for his own actions! And so he lied!) The home page has some good links as well.

From the National Women’s History Project

The history of women often seems to be written with invisible ink. Even when recognized in their own times, women are often not included in the history books.

Check out their resource center tab and click on the biographies section! It is quite extensive!

My teachers and the town librarians in our little burg where I grew up must have been ahead of the times! I can remember reading biographies of Abigail Adams, Clara Barton, Florence Nightingale and Marie Curie even before 4th grade! (And this was LONG before any politician ever thought of honoring ANY woman!) But then again, the teachers and librarians were women, who in their own quiet way, were trying to let me know women can aspire, learn, grow and ACHIEVE!

My thanks to Mrs. Marshall, Ms. Tierney, Mrs. Bolton, Mrs. McCarthy (first through fourth grade teachers), Mrs. Maguire (Girl Scout troop leader- who took us on many a tomboy adventure and to whom I owe my initial wilderness survival skills)  and most of all to my Mom and my Nana. Both always said and believed that in America you can be anything you want to be! (And yes! They believed a woman would one day be President and do it better!)

What woman was special to you???

4 Responses

  1. Many thanks to all women who have gone before us paving the way.

    • Didn’t really have a favorite as I always sat in admiration of those that trailblazed the path. Whether it be Madame Currie or Susan B. Anthony, I found them each fascinating in their own right.

  2. Funny how I had teachers even back in the day- before Civil Rights- that knew how important it was and led us to age appropriate material. I remember learning about madame Curie in 3rd grade science and the teacher never even commented that she was a “woman” just presented her as a pioneering scientist! We had not yet gotten to the point in third grade where the difficulties she must have faced as a woman scientist in those days would have made any sense to us! God Bless you Mrs. Bolton where ever you are!

    • It begins at home and continues in school. Unfortunately, the role models for today are usually celebrities. I have problems with young girls trying to imitate Britney, Heidi and Kim.
      TV has truly screwed up things.

Comments are closed.

