Fat Tuesday!

Carnival- from the Latin  Carne Vale- farewell flesh. The carnival season actually begins on Epiphany, hence the King Cake tradition, and ends today- on Fat Tuesday. I COULD draw some political metaphors – but this is supposed to be the last day of fun and festivity for 40 days.

Today is also known as Shrove Tuesday and Pancake Tuesday. Lots of different resources on the Web for history and origins of Carnival, Fat Tuesday and Lent. Most agree that Fat Tuesday was the day folks would use up their dairy products in preparation for the season of fasting beginning tomorrow, Ash Wednesday, so pancakes became a tradition- using the eggs and butter and milk.There are some sources that say Fat Tuesday was a day a whole fattened calf was prepared and consumed. Either way, it is the day for rich foods, feasting and frolicking before the austerity of the Lenten season.

My family will have pancakes, bacon and eggs and we will break open a jar of my homemade Black Raspberry jam to top the pancakes. Lots and Lots of butter on the pancakes!!!! Then we will take last years palms to the church to be burned for tomorrow’s ashes.

What are you having today? Are you celebrating with special foods? Share in the comments!

11 Responses

  1. I have a ton of old beads from Mardi Gras past. I do miss NO. If you have a moment, the 1956 video clip of Mardi Gras past is up PMM.

  2. I wish my church took our old Palms to be burned. i still have a pile of them from the last few years that I have to burn. Maybe I’ll just do them tonight in the fireplace and scoop up the ashes to put in my garden…once the snow melts, that is. I don’t know what else to do with them and I’ve heard that’s an acceptable way to dispose of them. I should ask Nazareth Priest about that.

    And after NP started talking about pancakes this afternoon, I made some for my lunch…minus the bacon. They were really good, too!

    • Check with the Cathedral for your diocese- they will know where you can take them. One parish started it out here a while back- our parish just started.
      Wonder where they get the ashes if not from last year’s palms??
      Before we found out about the local church taking them we always would burn them in a fire just for that. My husband went to parochial school- he knows the prayers for everything!

  3. proudmilitarymom- I think I heard them talking about Palms on Relevant Radio the other day and they said that they actually buy them from someplace and that when they prepare the ashes for distribution they mix it with something (can’t remember what) and that makes them stick better to the forehead. I know our Parish buys their ashes, I saw them delivered once.

    I talked to NP and he told me that he tried to pulverize his in the blender today and then burned them so it would be easier. He also said I can bury the ashes in the garden in the Spring. So, I’m going to burn them in my fireplace on an old metal cookie sheet I have and then sweep the ashes when they cool, into a container and store them until Spring.

    • Kind of sad isn’t it? The ceremony for the burning of last year’s palms is quite nice. Wonder how the buying of pamls ever got started? Probably city fire ordinances or something.
      Now that I am thinking of it- where do they buy the palms from? is it some big commercial palm farm with government subsidies??

  4. homemade Black Raspberry jam

    Ummmmmmmmmmmm!

    Fat Tuesday….the day for rich foods, feasting and frolicking before the austerity of the Lenten season.

    Yup. Ready.

    And after NP started talking about pancakes this afternoon, I made some for my lunch…minus the bacon.

    Nunly possibly caught a glimpse/visions of this and ditched the bacon. http://bitsandpieces.us/2010/02/06/can-you-eat-too-much-bacon/

    Wonder where they get the ashes if not from last year’s palms??

    So much for the traditional burning of the old to be used for the current Day of the Ashes mass. Some people will burn their own and place them in the garden as Nunly notes. Apparently, it is becoming a little easier for some to just purchase. Less messy. http://www.pe.com/localnews/inland/stories/PE_News_Local_W_ashes16.316f5ce.html

    • Towncrier! Thanks for coming by!! That photo is hysterical!
      The link was interesting- and easy seems to be the way our whole society is going- ah well- I like the idea of the palms turning into ashes. Guess I am fortunate to live in an area where that is available- though not every parish does it.
      Come by often! Do you have a blog that I can add to my blogroll?

Comments are closed.

