Why?????

Groundhog day! Groundhog Day?? Why in heaven’s name do we have a holiday in honor of a frigging rodent????? Look- it’s February 2nd- if you live anywhere in the Northeast you know (or should know) without the help of a rodent that there will be AT LEAST six more weeks of winter! Destructive buggers they are- digging holes- I’ll show you an example in a bit- destroying crops and generally being a nuisance.

National Geographic on Groundhogs

From Wikipedia

“Groundhog Day is a holiday celebrated on February 2. It is held in the United States and Canada. According to folklore, if a groundhog emerging from its burrow on this day fails to see its shadow, it will leave the burrow, signifying that winter will soon end. If on the other hand, the groundhog sees its shadow, the groundhog will supposedly retreat into its burrow, and winter will continue for six more weeks.[1] The holiday, which began as a Pennsylvania German custom in southeastern and central Pennsylvania in the 18th and 19th centuries, has its origins in ancient European weather lore, wherein a badger or sacred bear is the prognosticator as opposed to a groundhog.[2] The holiday also bears some similarities to the medieval Catholic holiday of Candlemas.[3] It also bears similarities to the Pagan festival of Imbolc, the seasonal turning point of the Celtic calendar, which is celebrated on February 2 and also involves weather prognostication.[4]”

Pests- nasty rodents! Know what happens to a horse or cow that steps in a groundhog hole? It’s not pretty! And like the proverbial cockroach if you kill one all it’s relatives come for the funeral and move right in.

Here’s how we control groundhogs here! (PETA be damned!)

That, by the way, is a pound puppy we adopted. He is a border collie mix and weighs a good 60+ pounds. And that is one of the SMALL holes he is going getting ready to dig out. Some of the holes are so large he can get all the way inside! God bless him- in the spring when it is cool and the rodents are slow he gets one or two a day. In summer he gets a couple a week. They just keep coming!  The damn things are rodents and breed accordingly –  So screw PETA!

6 Responses

  1. Cute dog PMM. LOL on the rodent groundhog comments. I read a comment one time about squirrels vs rats that could also be said about groundhogs vs rats……squirrels (and groundhogs) are just rats with a good PR firm.

  2. LOL imust! Vermin control is never ending here! They are all related- squirrels, rats, mice etc. The cat takes care of the smaller vermin- up to and including squirrels and the dog gets everything else!

    He is a great dog- fast too! Nothing much goes on here of which he is not keenly aware!

  3. I’m not a fan of groundhogs, myself, and I’m glad we don’t have them hanging out in our yards. However, we do have ground squirrels (chipmunks) that I’ve been doing battle with for the last two years. They can really cause the damage to your home and garden. They actually chewed a hole in my concrete front porch…on top and along the step. I guess they are living underneath it now. This Spring they will have a nice little treat waiting for them…poison. They actually chewed a hole through my neighbor’s house and got into his basement! He had the hole repaired and they chewed another one right next to it!

    • Chewing through concrete??? YIKES! I have chipmunk issues too- they dig in my perennial bed and chew up the bulbs- the cat gets quite a few- but – rodents! Breed like crazy! Especially when they think there is a free lunch to be had. But chewing through concrete? That is incredible! Looking for calcium from the lime?
      I finally got the chippies out of the perennial bed by re-digging and replanting the whole damn thing. Talk about thousands of bulbs! That of course was before I wrecked my back. I tried throwing mothballs down the holes- didn’t work- they would pick them up and throw them out!
      Let me know if you find a fool proof way to get rid of the buggers!
      Thanks for visiting!

  4. Other than poison…like D-Con, I have no idea how to get rid of chipmunks. What really pisses me off is when they get into my flower pots and dig down to eat the roots. I don’t know that they’ve got into them until I see the dead flowers and pick them up and the roots are gone.

    I was thinking of trying something different this Spring by the chewed up porch, though. I think I’m going to get a long hunk of cotton, soak it in bleach and put a string on it and let it drop into the hole. Maybe the fumes of the bleach will get them out. It’s just a thought…not sure what else I can do. Of course, the fumes won’t kill them and they’ll just move on to another place to nest…but if I’m lucky, it won’t be in my yard.

    • I just had a thought- you might give it a try- I don’t know why I did not think of it before- We use human hair to keep the deer off the apple trees and out of the garden. I am going to give it a try this spring and see if it works on chipmunks.

      For the apple trees I always save the hair from my brush and tie it in onion bags and tie those to the young apple trees. In the garden I put small pieces of netting with the hair on the tomato cages and bean and pea stakes. An old gardener told me to just pull the hair from my brush and drag it through the branches – but my hair is very long and I was afraid the birds would get hung up in it- hence putting it in the onion bags.

      We’ll have to compare notes in the spring- it will be awhile here- it’s snowing- again! But my snowdrops should be up by the end of the month.

Comments are closed.

