My Answers

In Hillary’s beautiful speech she asked a series of questions – questions calculated to make us think. I have been pondering the decision I will have to make in November for some time now. I am one of the voters who lives in a critical swing state, PA and so I can not in good conscience just stay home. I have voted for the Democratic nominee in every election since I attained that privilege and I will not stay home this year (too bad Donna Brazile!) So let’s review Hillary’s questions first.

I want you to ask yourselves: Were you in this campaign just for me? Or were you in it for that young Marine and others like him? Were you in it for that mom struggling with cancer while raising her kids? Were you in it for that boy and his mom surviving on the minimum wage? Were you in it for all the people in this country who feel invisible?

The short answer is I was/AM in this for my country and my fellow citizens. I am in it for Democracy- with a capital D. For all of us who are invisible to our elected officials. And as much as it pains me to say so, I/we, are as invisible to the Democrats as we are to the Republicans.

Where were the Democratic Party officials when the outrageous frauds were perpetrated in the caucus states? Where were they when the media was using blatantly misogynistic language first against Sen. Clinton and then against her supporters?  Where were the party bosses when Florida and Michigan were punished for moving their primaries?

The Democratic Party officials were hip deep in it that’s where. Colluding with corruption and condoning the exact same tactics of stealing and/or not counting votes that so outraged us in 2000 and 2004 when the Republicans stole those elections.

So now I am to forget all that I have learned about Sen. Obama and his heinous connections with Farrakhan, Rezko, Ayers, Wright, Alsammare, Auchi and Pfleger? I am to jump on the Unity express and jetison my convictions for the sake of “The Party?” You wish me to cast my vote for a man who was given an unfair advantage? You wish me to forget that delegates were taken from my candidate and given to man whose name was not even on the ballot???

I, unlike the officials of my party, will stay true to my beliefs- beliefs which I thought my party shared. Here’s a refresher for any who have forgotten what the Democrats are SUPPOSED to stand for-

CHARTER OF THE DEMOCRATIC PARTY OF THE UNITED STATES

PREAMBLE

We, the Democrats of the United States of America, united in common purpose, hereby rededicate

ourselves to the principles which have historically sustained our Party. Recognizing that the vitality of the

Nation’s political institutions has been the foundation of its enduring strength, we acknowledge that a

political party which wishes to lead must listen to those it would lead, a party which asks for the people’s

trust must prove that it trusts the people and a party which hopes to call forth the best the Nation can

achieve must embody the best of the Nation’s heritage and traditions.

What we seek for our Nation, we hope for all people: individual freedom in the framework of a just

society, political freedom in the framework of meaningful participation by all citizens. Bound by the United

States Constitution, aware that a party must be responsive to be worthy of responsibility, we pledge

ourselves to open, honest endeavor and to the conduct of public affairs in a manner worthy of a society of

free people.

Under God, and for these ends and upon these principles, we do establish and adopt this Charter of the

Democratic Party of the United States of America.

So check out the parts I have bolded- the ideals the Party is supposed to represent. A party which wishes to lead must listen! Did the party listen to the people? Absolutely not- 18 million voters were cast aside and told to stay home by Ms. Donna Brazile. We had to fight tooth and nail to have our candidate’s name placed in nomination- something which should, by the rules and the charter, never even have been an issue. (As it has never been an issue for any candidate in any past convention.) And when we did finally get the roll call, the delegates did not cast the votes that represented the wishes of the voters who sent them to the convention to represent us.

The Party certainly has not conducted its affairs in an open and honest manner- witness the back room dealings and secret votes, against the rules by the way, of the RBC on May 31st. Nay, my party is no longer the party of the people, it is a party just like the Republican party- one in which personal power is the goal and where the ends justify the means.

So my answer is this- Yes, I am in it for the young soldier, the mom with cancer, the family struggling to survive on minimum wage. I am in it for all of us who are invisible to the political power brokers of BOTH parties in this country. SHAME! SHAME I say!

I will stick to what I know is right and fight for it! I will fight to make sure every vote is counted the way it is cast. To end the disenfranchisement of voters in caucuses that leave out the elderly, the deployed, the disabled, young parents and shift workers.

I am in it for DEMOCRACY! For an America where every vote counts! And every vote is counted the way it is cast!  I can not, will not, condone what has been done in 2008. I can not, will not forget the travesty that has been allowed. Politicians may throw their ideals and convictions out the window in the name of the Party- I can not, WILL NOT!

One Response

  1. I’ve been reading a few posts and really and enjoy your writing. I’m just starting up my own blog and only hope that I can write as well and give the reader so much insight.

Comments are closed.

